Tuesday | March 16, 2021

Cresco, IA | Rushford, MN (9 a.m. March 16, 2021) — The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) recently announced MiEnergy Cooperative as the winner of the 2021 Electric Cooperative Purpose Award at its PowerXchange Conference. 

NRECA is the national trade association that represents more than 800 electric cooperatives.

The award recognizes electric cooperatives who work with their membership to make outstanding contributions which result in visible, lasting improvements to the quality of life and the purpose of the cooperative in the community.

NRECA highlighted the cooperative’s partnerships as being innovative and helping to boost the quality of life for its members. MiEnergy members who were frustrated with the lack of high-speed broadband internet in rural areas reached out to see if the electric cooperative could help.

In 2018, MiEnergy Cooperative answered by partnering with two local telephone cooperatives, Mabel Cooperative Telephone Company and Spring Grove Communications to create MiBroadband. Since then, MiBroadband has expanded to serve over 600 subscribers and has been a winner of federal and state grants and loans to help bring broadband to local rural residents.

MiEnergy also partnered with NRECA and the Iowa Economic Development Association to pilot a residential battery storage program. 

“MiEnergy has distinguished itself as a progressive electric cooperative that is always looking for new opportunities to control costs, enhance service and exceed member expectations,” said NRECA President Curtis Wynn. “Its continued success in improving the lives of people in its community is why MiEnergy is so deserving of this award.”
Brian Krambeer, president/CEO, of MiEnergy accepted the award.

“Our team is humbled to be recognized for this distinguished award,” Krambeer said.  “I’m also very proud of our employees and board of directors in what we have been able to accomplish on behalf of our membership with the creation of MiEnergy Cooperative.” 

Brian Krambeer holding award

Media Contact:

Brenda Tesch
Manager of Marketing and Communications