MiEnergy Cooperative’s Annual Meeting, held April 13, 2022, had approximately 95 people in attendance. The event was also livestreamed through YouTube.

This year marked the first year since the merger of Hawkeye REC and Tri-County Electric Cooperative that director elections for districts 4 and 5 were held.  A total of 1,547 ballots were cast (1,355 by mail, 191 electronically and 1 onsite). 

District 4 had two seats up for re-election with challenger Kyle Holthaus, of Waukon, Iowa, winning over incumbent Charles Frana, of Calmar, Iowa, by a vote of 420 to 360. Carl Reicks, of New Hampton, Iowa, ran unopposed. 

In District 5, both incumbents were re-elected. Jenny Scharmer, of Winona, Minn., won her seat over challenger Bob Peterson, of Winona, Minn. by a vote of 555 to 190. Beth Olson, of Lewiston, Minn., was re-elected with 474 votes, while her challenger Travis Thul, of Winona, Minn., received 272 votes.

The results were certified by independent election vendor Survey and Ballot Systems and Dennis Puckett from Sullivan & Ward.

Download the 2021 Annual Report:

cover of 2021 annual report