Thursday | October 10, 2019

Cresco, IA | Rushford, MN  (10:30 a.m. Oct. 10, 2019)— Brian Krambeer, MiEnergy Cooperative’s president/CEO, has been appointed to the Governor’s Task Force on Broadband. The Task Force appointments were announced by Governor Tim Walz and Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan and include community leaders throughout the state of Minnesota.

Krambeer has worked in the rural electric cooperative industry for 31 years, 22 of those years with MiEnergy and its predecessors. Most recently he has led MiEnergy’s broadband initiative by partnering with Mabel Cooperative Telephone Company and Spring Grove Communications to create a limited-liability corporation, MiBroadband, that launched to provide fixed wireless internet service to rural and underserved areas.  Krambeer also serves as board president of MiBroadband.

The purpose of the Task Force is to put forth policies to help ensure every Minnesotan has access to high-speed internet, no matter their zip code.  

“I’m honored to be selected to serve on the Governor’s Broadband Task Force. Quality broadband service for greater Minnesota is a priority for Governor Walz and cooperatives across Minnesota,” Krambeer said.

Other Task Force members include: Tewodros Bekele, Lake Elmo; Nolan Cauthen, Crystal; Dale Cook, Minneapolis; Steve Fenske, Buffalo; Steve Giorgi, Virginia; Shannon Heim, Minneapolis; Marc Johnson, Mora; Bernadine Joselyn, Grand Rapids; Micah Myers, Watkins; Theresa Sunde, Waseca; James Weikum, Biwabik; Paul Weirtz, Bayport; and David Wolf, Brandon.  The terms for members of the Task Force expire in April 2023.

brian krambeer sitting in his office