Monday | June 20, 2022

Cresco, IA | Rushford, MN (9:30 a.m. June 20, 2022)— MiEnergy Cooperative awarded $70,000 in scholarships to 70 local high school students who exemplify commitment to their local community. MiEnergy’s scholarship program reflects the core cooperative principle of commitment to community by recognizing high school seniors who demonstrate cooperative spirit through service to others. The scholarships are funded through unclaimed capital credits that would otherwise be turned over the state. A video of the award winners can be viewed on the cooperative’s website,, at This year’s 2022 MiEnergy Cooperative Community Service Scholarship winners are as follows:

Aquinas: Ellie E. Kath, child of Tony and Rebecca Kath.

Caledonia:  Sasha McLees, child of Jeanne Buros; Grace Myhre, child of Francis and Heather Myhre; Brianna Stemper, child of Dan and Maria Stemper; Lillian M. Doyle, child of Patrick and Joleen Doyle; Sadie Treptow, child of Justin and Kristie Treptow; Amber Stemper, child of Michael and Susan Stemper.   

Chatfield: Lauren Elizabeth Cole, child of Robert and Debra Cole; Zayda Thieke Priebe, child of Ryan and Amanda Priebe.

Cotter: Alessia Maria Velasquez Nitti, child of Christina Uribe Nitti and Jose Uribe Mardones.

Crestwood: Chance Everett-Charles Carter, child of Kevin and Julie Carter; Emily Grayce Voyna, child of Scott and Jeanne Voyna; Lyli Kunert, child of Justin and Lacey Newell and the late Joseph Kunert.

Decorah: Melia Kruse, child of Joel and Patty Kruse; Ashley Schneberger, child of Dennis and Charity Schneberger; Drew White, child of Jason and Bridget White; Abby Halverson, child of Tracy Halverson and Chad Halverson; Sage Katherine Wedmann, child of Bill Wedmann and Kelly Sorenson; Emily Grace Carolan, child of Jason and Sherri Carolan; Kassidy Rae Steines, child of Benjamin and Stephanie Steines.

Houston: Ethan Hargrove, child of Seth and Renae Hargrove; Maci Woodard, child of Josh and Jamie Woodard; Calley A. Colsch, child of Tim Colsch and Karla Colsch; Caden Charles Ness, child of Kimberly Ness; Karalee Christensen, child of Alan and Karen Christensen; Therese Jore, child of Doug and Mary Jore.

Kingsland: Isaac Hauser, child of Steve and Amy Hauser.

LaCrescent-Hokah: Lydia Rosendahl, child of Kevin and Paula Rosendahl.

Lanesboro: Ella Jane Cambern, child of Darrin Cambern; Brielle Ruen, Carson Ruen, Adam Ruen, children of Eric and Kristi Ruen.

LeRoy-Ostrander: Anna Dru Welsh, Kylie Jo Welsh, children of Melanie and Mike Welsh.

Lewiston-Altura: Melanie Wardwell, child of Garrett and Carlyn Wardwell; Elise Marie Sommer, child of Chad Sommer and Sarah Sommer; Emma Marie Mueller, child of Andrew Mueller and Carman Mueller; Matthew Schell, child of Robert and Shelly Schell; Anna Christine Hennessy, child of Joel and Jodi Hennessy; Katelyn Ketchum, child of Mike and Mary Ketchum; Anissa Neu, child of Tim and Jenn Neu.

Mabel-Canton: Emily Ann Carolan, child of Jarad and Wendy Carolan.

New Hampton: Bailey Kriener, child of Sally and Lyle Kriener; Chloe Reicherts, child of Jason and Tori Reicherts; Zachary Utley, child of Tony and Jennifer Utley.

Onalaska Luther: Madelynn Carol Marie Crabtree, child of Joseph and Diann Crabtree; Rachel Mae Koenig, child of Byron and Holly Koenig; Evan Erdman, child of Jason and Rita Erdman; Faithe Rupprecht, child of Kyle and Mandy Rupprecht; Kayleigh Anderson, child of Jeremy and Amber Anderson.

Riceville: Mitchel Marr, child of Mike and Sherry Marr.

Rushford-Peterson: Olivia Thompson, child of Brian and Jenny Thompson; Malachi Bunke, child of Nikki Bunke and Andy McManimon; Brianne Papenfuss, child of Brian and Bridget Papenfuss; Emarie Jacobson, child of Ryan and Leah Jacobson.

Spring Grove: Marah Jean Mathison, child of Dean and Kristy Mathison; Ashlyn Hammel, child of Michael and Kelli Hammel.

St. Charles: Carter Mathison, child of Mike and Melissa Mathison.

South Winneshiek: Shaun Klimesh, child of Corey and Lynette Klimesh; Janessa Kay Zweibahmer, child of Jason and Marilyn Zweibahmer; Jenna Sadler, child of Sam and Leanne Sadler; Holly Jane Schmitt, child of Greg and Sara Schmitt.

Stewartville: Nicole Brianna Schultz, child of Kevin and Kim Schultz; Samantha Feine, child of Eric and Kim Feine; Dyllon Lohmann, child of Karri and Eric Lohmann.  

Turkey Valley: Jalyssa Blazek, child of Don and Kim Blazek; Josie Mai Weber, child of Jeremy and Teresa Weber; Garrett Bradlee Kurtenbach, child of Craig and Jenn Kurtenbach.

Van Meter: Dustin J. Barth, child of Dan and Amy Barth.

Winona: Andrew Robert Wooden, child of Edward and Kelly Wooden.

scholarships image

Media Contact:

Brenda Tesch
Manager of Marketing and Communications